Diagnosis
11/2013
Country
US
State
Minnesota (MN)
City
Fridley
I've recently been diagnosed with ALS and I'm a veteran. I'm wondering what other Vet's have experienced with the VA. I'm working with a rep from PVA and she seems very positive and thinks I'll get my first disability check in February.

I've also learned that the local VA Hospital has an ALS Clinic.

What have you experienced? Any pointers.

We have had an excellent experience with the VA, as far as getting equipment and compensation. I do like the fact that they work as a team in the VA with OT, Respiratory, PT, Speech therapy, psychology, etc. But we have not had the best experience when he has had to stay in the hospital. I am a nurse, so a quite particular about things, and just found too many nurses being lazy. I stayed with him the entire day, so that I could be present when each discipline visited him, but also to make sure that he got prompt care. I am aware that often nurses have very heavy patient loads, but this was not the case.
That being said, I don't know where we would be with out the financial assistance that we get, and the equipment that they get for him is top of the line. Tons of paper work, and many phone calls at times, just be a squeaky wheel.