Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
CA
State
BC
City
Kelowna
I have been visiting this forum for a couple months as I have experienced symptoms. I would like to begin by saying how much all of the work that goes into this forum is appreciated by all who visit. Your commitment to supporting all those who need is is amazing. Thank you very much.
I am a 39 year old male and over the last couple months I have been having symptoms that include muscle twitching, reduced coordination in hands, atrophy in hands and other muscle groups in the upper body.
I have visited my GP. He said he wasn't concerned but referred me to a neurologist at my request. The clinical exams with all of the regular tests of strength, babinski, hoffman etc were all fine. There were no noted issues in gait or muscle tone in the report. The first neuro sent me to another neuro to have a limb emg and it was clean as well and was told no ALS.

The emg was about a week and a half ago. Since that time however, I seem to be experiencing bulbar type symptoms. My tongue seems a little less flexible, my voice is a little hoarse (though my wife says she can't notice any difference), and I seem to require an extra breath or two occassionally while talking at length. I have no slurring or swallowing difficulties with liquids or solids. I have severe anxiety about all this and am finding it hard to function an a daily basis.

My questions are concerning these symptoms that have occurred after the emg and reports indicating no ALS. I thought for sure that the emg would indicate a problem with some atrophy and coodination difficulty. They did not do a bulbar emg as I was demonstrating no symptoms.

What do you think about my recent bulbar symptoms? Could I have ALS and the EMG simply did not pick it up as that part of my body wasn't tested? Could the emg have missed something in my limbs? Would it be possible to show ALS symptoms in the bulbar and all the limbs in just a few weeks?