Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
WA
City
Kirkland
I'm curious because I'm reading conflicting information in studies as to the likelihood of a clean EMG but still having ALS. One paper shows 10% of cases reveal no major EMG abnormalities for those already diagnosed with ALS...

Has anyone here who has been diagnosed, had a clean EMG only to find out they had ALS soon after? Or had a clean EMG and then a dirty EMG a few months later?

I'm not an expert, but from what I understand, it is possible to have a clean EMG if you have PLS, which is upper motor neuron only. The EMG picks up the damage caused by the lower motor neurons being damaged. So while it is possible, it's not probable, and I would guess that in most cases its when PLS is later determined to be ALS.

In my case, the EMG showed problems in my arms nearly 2 years before I started having a lot of issues with them (it started in my foot, so was already diagnosed).

Check trfogey's postings, he had a really good explanation a few weeks before he passed away explaining how it works.

Not me. I had 3 dirty ones.

I have a clean emg (emg showed fasciculations and no other signs) but I have signs of upper motor neuron problems so the doctors are saying I have an upper motor neuron dominant mnd. I don't have a final diagnosis yet but this is what they told me about the main possibility.

I have a clean EMG but have bulbar ALS. Take care.

Reading posts above...we can consider CLEAN EMG doesn't mean NO ALS.
A clinical exam is more important than EMG?

Best!

I had a clean EMG when symptoms first started. I had only bulbar symptoms for years affecting mainly speech.
Then years later, I have muscle weakness, and balance problems. My left hand cramps and is weaker and my legs are very stiff.
I am sure that if I had an EMG now that it would be dirty, but I am in no hurry to have another one of those.