11/2010
Country
US
State
OHIO
City
london
Hi to all,
I’ve been visiting this forum for awhile but haven’t posted anything before. As it is January and most people have their resolutions it’s my month of firsts…first time I admitted I’m not going to drive again, the first fall..the first time I used a cart to shop with….the first time I let myself fall into the well of despair..the first post. So hi to all and already thanks for all the hope and support and hints I have found here. (thanks Al, my glasses slip too, thanks Laurel….my bidet just arrived and thanks to everyone your quotes and stories and humor inspire me) I was diagnosed nov 2010. I was lucky because it took only a few visits to get the diagnosed. But I’m a nurse and I knew to keep asking , as the mother of four I know you should only ask the questions you want the answer to but I still kept asking. I live near Columbus ohio and so again I’m lucky to have a clinic so close with a research program that my neruo is part of. I’m on the second trial. The first one showed no efficacy and now I’m on the dex trial. I feel no affects from it but we will see. I My als started in my hands and neck. My legs are weak now and another first… a wheelchair will be here next week. The bulbar issues are also starting. I am blessed with a husband who would walk thru fire for me and is willing to work and fight with me, for me and at me to keep me a part of life. So now iiits time for one more first, to climb out of this despair and follow the advice I told my nieces and kids..get busy living or get busy dying..It’s time to start living again. Happy birthday to me (not afirst,not by a long shot!)Thanks for listening and allowing me to visit until I could talk. mary pat

marypat, what took you so long, we've kept a spot at Aly's table for tea for newcomers... and I hear there's a wonderful bus with all kinds of amenities, but once on, they don't let you off!