Diagnosis
06/2011
Country
US
State
Washington
City
Woodinville
And not from too many drinks! Darn! I have fallen twice in the last few weeks. First at work while just stepping back from someone's desk. Fell right into a table. Then a week later, stepped backwards while decorating the tree, and down to the floor I went. My left leg just isn't stable and I forget about it. I've been carrying it around with me for 53 years so I am kind of used to it working! I had my husband get all the decorations out and proceeded to hang and display things here and there, but found it to be so much work this year. Hanging garland is not an easy task when you can't get on a step ladder and I did not want it on the railings of the stairs as I need those railings to keep my balance. I looked around at the many boxes of decorations and sighed. Then alot of it went back into storage. We learn to know what we can and cannot do, right? A few days ago I had my hair done after work, and walking out afterwards I had to walk down a slight slope that was covered with small pebbles -- and there were no hand rails. I made it down okay, but shuffled my feet as if I were on ice. I just take deep breaths alot and count my blessings for what I have. Guess it's the reality that I cannot do the things I used to that is so unsettling. Many blessings to all my friends out there. I am going to take next week off and bake, bake, bake and get some rest too!

LouLou, do you have a brace for your leg? If not, please get one. It will make a world of difference and you'll be so much safer.

lou lou...yr slipping up cos u fall down on the basics....if yr gonna do a triple solka on to the concrete, have a belly full of the hard stuff...then u dont feel the pain till next morning.....and cos yr head is bursting from the booze yous dont give a monkeys anyway..... logic init........johnny....

oh boy,i remember the falls in the early years............some embarrasing.