Other
Country
US
State
NV
City
Las Vegas
Hi all,
Have been concerned on and off for years about the possiblity of ALS. Just had a sleep study and they said I do not have apnea. although I do snore but the doctor is concerned about a low oxygen saturation and said we need to find out why. Of course, I'm worried that this could mean ALS. He did say it could mean COPD or many other things. My level during the day has been on the lower end of normal 92-94 during the day. Didn't mention this to him, (he's a new doctor). Would I have other symptoms first if this was ALS, i.e. weakness in my breathing muscles, which I don't? I'm very worried, please help. Have been to many neuros over the years, have r/o ALS but never had an EMG. I have always been afraid to. Thanks, Heather

Heatherjoy,

Hopefully you'll get some good information from others here on the board. I'm not a doctor (nor have ALS), but if the only symptom you have is low oxygen saturation, then I think you shouldn't be worried about ALS. There are a lot of things that can cause low saturation levels, and you mentioned COPD yourself.

I am curious though. You say you've worried about ALS off and on for years. Has the breathing difficulty been going on that long? If so then I would say that you certainly should put ALS out of your mind. Going years without symptoms spreading to other parts of the body certainly points away from ALS.

If the breathing difficulties are more recent, I would ask why have you been worried for years? Did a family member of friend have ALS?

Robert

oxygen level